The highs and the lows

I love education.  I do.  I really, really do.  It is the one thing that has the power to lift a person out of poor circumstances.  

Changing education and creating a new system in its place are tremendously challenging.  I repeat: tremendously challenging.  We are facing big problems daily.  Just when I think we have solved one thing…another thing pops up immediately in its place.

I continue to remind myself of my vow to change education in the most optimistic manner. I gotsta say though, some days…whew…makes me want to scream.  Some days I wish I was not so embroiled in a profession that rakes me over the emotional coals.  Some days, I would like to come home and not have my mind racing about the day.

But then I remind myself that I am teaching kids to think.  Actually think and pursue professional level pursuits.  I have not handed them a single thing from a canned script.  Everything they are working on has been chosen by them and then co-constructed with me.

I have learned so much about how to start an inquiry school.  More insights to be written soon…I just need more time for some things to play out.

To be continued…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

